SUPERSTARS  2018 - 2019 (Q3)

         Our awesome HSK Superstars continue to shine brightly into quarter 3 of this school year!!  Their focus and determination to do well, please their parents, and astound their Senpais has NOT gone unnoticed, as they continue to claim their rewards!

         HSK's members and parents know and understand our vision and focus on developing our children into respectful, responsible, and contributing members of our community.  To this end, students are required to have their teachers complete a quarterly school report to ensure that they are working toward these goals.  Teachers rate them on behavior, respect, and self-discipline.  In Sensei's words, "We don't expect them to be geniuses.  We DO expect them to be 'normal'!"

         The following students have earned the title of "HSK Superstar," having received a rating of "Excellent" (E) in all three categories.  The number in parentheses next to their names represents the number of consecutive school quarters that they have earned this distinction.  These students represent the best of the best at HSK!  CONGRATULATIONS! 


        Photos by Myles Ushio and Alan Reynolds

Our Quarter 3 Superstars smile proudly at their AWESOMENESS!

Maya Matsumoto leads the pack with 12 straight Super Star honors!

Maya (12) - HSK pen

Shuto Uke (back stance/open hand)

Rylynn Toyama follows closely with 11 straight honors!

Rylynn (11)

Heian Godan

Peyton  Choi -- 6 straight honors!

Peyton (6) - HSK Sticker

Heian Yondan

Mae Matsumoto -- 4 straight honors!

Mae (4)


Micah Kim (4)

Age Uke (up block)

Christian Tomita (4)

Heian Godan

Rianna Zhang -- 2 straight honors!

Rianna (2)

Oizuki (lunge punch)

Kaia Chang -- her 1st honor!

Kaia (1)

Gedan Barai (down block)

Paige Choi -- 1st honor!

Paige (1)

Heian Yondan

Aparna Datta -- 1st honor!

Aparna (1)

Heian Sandan

Ian and Micah -- our Kaneohe dojo superstars!

Ian Yamamoto (1)

Heian Shodan
SUPERSTARS 2018 -2019 (Quarter 3)
Chang, Kaia Choi, Paige
Choi, Peyton Datta, Aparna
Kim, Micah Matsumoto, Mae
Matsumoto, Maya Tomita, Christian
Toyama, Rylynn Yamamoto, Ian
Zhang, Rianna  

(return to home page)